All this citrus!!

It’s funny how after a long 40 hour week of work in a kitchen I just want to come home and relax…….IN A KITCHEN! Ah yes! I enjoy the soothing hum of my KitchainAid as it obidiently carries out my orders to mix, blend, and whisk and the precision of my scale to guide me through my science/art experiment acurately. Why do I love this so much you ask? Because baking is just like an art project that requires science and that can be eaten afterwards. Because it always makes SOMEONE happy, baking is always a win!

The baking bug bit me this weekend as I wondered what to do with the pounds of oranges and lemons that had made their way into the kitchen in only a couple of weeks. My friend Rhea brought over some oranges at one point, then lemons went on sale ( an offer I could not resist). And so this is the story of citrus season in Florida. Oranges are everywhere to be found; they have been since Christopher Columbus brought the first citrus plants to the new world in 1493.  Ponce De Leon transported the citrus seeds into the St. Augustine area years later where they thrived and became a booming industry. They still remain an important part of Florida as they can even be found on license plates!

Determined to make good use of the fragrant “golden apple” I decided to make me a little pound cake to go with my morning coffee.

To make Florida Citrus pound cake start by zesting 2 oranges and mixing the zest with 200 g of sugar.  Rub the zest against the sugar with your hands. It’s really fun, it smells amazing and it will release all the orange oils into the sugar making it much more fragrant.  Set aside for about a half hour so it may infuse. Meanwhile, gather 190 g of fresh eggs, 100 g melted butter, or vegetable oil  (heck, even brown butter if you’re feeling like a rock star), and 90 g freshly squeezed orange juice. I used a self rising cake flour for this recipe, which already has the baking powder in the mix. I used 260 g of self rising cake flour.  Add a pinch of salt!

Start by setting the oven to 350 degrees F. Then mix the sugar + zest + eggs. You can do this by hand or using the mixer, either way, make sure that these ingredients mix until creamy, then slowly pour in  the fat. Mix some more until the fat emulsifies with the rest of the egg and sugar mixture. By now, you will have a separate bowl with all your dry ingredients.  Fold in dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix just until you create a creamy batter. Be gentle when you mix and careful not to OVER-MIX. stop as soon as everything is incorporated. add orange juice.  pour batter into a 9 inch loaf pan and bake for 40 minutes or until its golden on the outside and the toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Be careful not to open the oven too frequently to check on your cake otherwise the center will collapse. It happens to me all the time =(

A delicate drizzle of dark chocolate goes amazing with this. Happy baking!!

Check out this article on citrus and hopefully get more ideas to use up your citrus.

 

 

Leave a Reply

