Let’s roll pasta baby!

I am SOOOO excited! It’s Saturday and all I want to do is barricade myself  in the kitchen, turn up the music to some good Manu Chao and make some pasta!! Did I mention it’s Saturday (my day off), AND I make pastas all week at work?  This is really fun! Definitely try it at home!!

I learned about pasta just recently when I started working at my current job.  Before this, the only pasta I knew came from a box and was rather cheap at $1.99 a box, so I did not put much thought into it. However, given the path my culinary career has taken, I have come to appreciate the art of making pasta much more than I ever thought I would.

Pasta has a rich history which takes us back to the town of Naples, Italy, where it was made by pasta makers who kneaded the dough with their feet. Since durum wheat (which is a very tough wheat to work with) was abundant in Italy, pasta became a staple for Italy’s people. Each pasta shape and size is created to be accompanied by different sauces, all depending on consistency.

Thankfully I live in the age of the Kitchen Aid and its wonderful selection of attachments, which make pasta making way more accessible for everyone. So don’t take off your shoes just yet because all you need to make this egg pasta dough is all purpose flour (2 lbs), 8 large eggs, and a pinch of salt. Place dry ingredients in the mixer and at low speed slowly drizzle in the eggs. Mix until the dough comes together, then keep mixing for 10 minutes.

Tortellinis are my favorite stuffed pasta, so I pulled whatever was inside my fridge and mixed it with goat cheese to create my filling. I am absolutely obsessed  with goat cheese, so I highly recommend that you put it into everything that you cook =) I also added some carrots, garlic, fresh herbs, and anything else I could find that reminded me of Italy.

Six months ago, my culinary student self would have served tortellinis with a thick Alfredo sauce or just about anything with lots of cheese, garlic, and cream. However, my Italian restaurant pasta chef self of today has learned that tortellinis are usually served with a light broth because the hat shape holds in the broth between the creases. But really, they can be served with just about any type of sauce that your heart desires.  I had  mushroom overload in the house, so I just made a mushroom broth with sauteed zucchini.

Once my dough was done mixing, I made sure to cover it completely with plastic wrap and began pushing it down until it fit through the rolling pins of my attachment. I used the Kitchen Aid pasta roller attachment and so far it has been everything I had hoped for from a roller.

Below is my Tortellini making adventure!

carrots for the filling

Tarragon, Thyme, and anything else I could get my hands on from the garden

Into the goat cheese they go

I finally get to play with the Kitchen Aid

Time for a tea break

Buon Appetito!

no comment..

2 thoughts on “Let’s roll pasta baby!

  1. I love the no comment part!!! Looks like such tedious work! Perhaps I should learn how to make pasta just to teach me patience! Geez!

Leave a Reply

