Peachy Scones: gluten free & sugar free

It’s peach season!!! Need I say anymore??? Just imagine all of the delicious things you can make with those sweet, juicy, plump, fuzzy peaches! I found a basket of fresh Georgia peaches at a little farmer’s market here in Winter Park, Fl the other day and I have been eating them like candy all day.  And just as I thought I had eaten peaches in every humanly way possible, I remember scones. I found my inspiration for these scones one tragic morning after discovering I had no milk for my much needed morning coffee. The hubby and I decided to go get our coffee at the closest coffee shop down the street. I usually don’t eat pastries when Im out and about because I like to watch my health and you never know what kinds of fats and sugars are hiding under those scrumptious delicacies, so I just stay away. However, this morning  the hubby ordered a scone. I picked at it (and actually guiltily ate about half of it), and as I sat there feeling guilty, I thought to myself, how can I create a delicious scone at home that I can eat without feeling guilty.  So, after coming back home I got to work. Now, I do not suffer from celiac disease, but being in the business of making people happy through food, I have to understand that everyday, more and more people are suffering from this disease and I must learn to cater to them as well. I also like the fact that  gluten free foods have low GI and more fiber, that makes anyone’s diet healthier. I used stevia on the raw ( zero calorie sweetener) to  help reduce the sugar content. So, following the tips I’ve learned in class, I decided to get to work.

Ingredients:

4 medium peaches ( peeled, cored, and diced into small raising size pieces)

pinch of cinnamon

400 g of gluten free flour mix ( I really like Bob’s Mill)

2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1/2 cup of Stevia sweetener ( For this recipe I used Stevia On The Raw, but you may use regular sugar if calories are not of your concern)

100 g of Earth Balance vegan butter substitute or butter (again depending on your health concerns you may chose to use earth balance or regular butter, but this recipe is not entirely vegan) Ensure the fat is ice cold and cut into small 1/2 inch cubes.

1/2 c milk or any other kind of non dairy milk product

1/2 c greek yogurt (plain)

1 egg

1/4 c brown sugar

1 T vanilla extract

 

Procedure

(Heat oven to 350 degrees)

1. First combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt and stevia, cinnamon) in a bowl and mix well. add in peach bits.

2. slowly add in the earth balance, a couple of cubes at a time. Using a fork, your hands, or a pastry cutter, mix into the dry ingredients until the mixture looks like wet sand. Make sure you still allow some chunks of fat to be visible in the mixture.

3. Refrigerate for about 10  minutes so that the dough remains cold.

4.  In a separate bowl mix the egg, yogurt, milk, and a splash of vanilla. Remove mixture from refrigeration.

5.  slowly fold in the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Mix only until you form a wet and sticky dough. DO NOT overmix or the scones will be very tough.

6.  Pour dough into a nonstick 10 inch springform pan. Top the dough with the brown sugar, simply sprinkle it over and pop it into the oven. Bake for about 45 minutes or until the top is a nice golden color. Make sure its cooked all the way through by inserting a knife through the mid section of the bread, if it comes out clean remove from the oven and let it cool down before cutting into pieces.

Like I mentioned before, this is not a vegan recipe, however, I try using a bit of vegan ingredients wherever I can so that I can reduce the amount of calories and fat that I am adding to the final product. This can definitely be made vegan by substituting the egg with 1 T of ground flax seed mixed into 3 T of warm water. Instead of using yogurt, you can use silken tofu (soft). As long as the same ratios of flour to liquid are kept, all you need to do it plug in the vegan ingredient and walla, uou will have a delicious scone to enjoy with your morning coffee without feeling the “dessert-for-breakfast” guilt!!!!!

 

Enjoy

 

2 thoughts on “Peachy Scones: gluten free & sugar free

  1. i’m wondering if you could tell me how many cups of flour you use. for some reason, i’m getting very different answers when i go to convert.
    thanks!

Leave a Reply

