A vegan zucchini bread loaf

In the spirit of stepping away from the commercial “veggie” patties and the “meatless” breakfast products that so many vegans have come to accept as part of their daily meals, I have baked a vegan bread loaf. I do not call myself a vegan, blame my obsession of cheese for that, however, I’ll be the first to admit that I will take any vegan dessert over its non-vegan counterpart anyday if it was made with natural and fresh ingredients. It cuts down on some of the saturated fat by eliminating eggs and butter. Of course, when baking a healthy vegan treat, you really need to be careful what the substitute for egg and butter will be. For example, don’t eliminate butter and then add shortening because chances are that it is a vegetable shortening that has been partially hydrogenated and thus contains trans-fats. This means that in your body these fats will lower your HDL (good) cholesterol levels and increase your LDL (bad) cholesterol levels.

I wanted to use whole wheat bread and because I have worked with regular whole wheat flour in the past, I know that many times it can be too heavy for bread. So heavy that I end up with bread that can probably double up as a rock/weapon. Because of this I decided to use whole wheat pastry flour because it has less protein and will not create as much gluten that can make my bread turn into a heavy glob.

I also added raisins and pieces of walnuts that add a delicious bite to the finished loaf!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 ts baking powder
  • 1/2 ts salt
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground clove
  • 1 Tbs flax seed (ground) mixed with 3 Tbs water ( this is the egg replacer)
  • 1/2 c raw sugar
  • 1/3 c canola oil
  • 1 ts lemon juice
  • 1 ts vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c zucchini (shredded)
  • 1/4 c walnuts
  • 1/4 c raisins
  • 1/4 c water
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Sift flour, baking powder, salt, clove, cinnamon and set aside in a large mixing bowl
  3. In a separate bowl, mix sugar, flax seed mixture, oil, lemon juice, vanilla,
  4. Add the zucchini, raisins, walnuts and water to the wet mixture.
  5. Incorporate the wet mixture into the dry mixture and mix. Make sure you do not overmix. Stop mixing as soon as all of the dry ingredients become moistened.
  6. Pour mix into a 8.4″ x 4.4″ x 2.7″ baking loaf pan
  7. Bake about 30 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean after being inserted into the center of baking loaf.

You will notice that it is not as sweet as other breads (like banana bread), but this allows the zucchini to have a more assertive presence. The sweet punch will come when you bite into a raisin. Oh, and the walnuts will just make everything crunchy and nutty! Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “A vegan zucchini bread loaf

  1. Hi!

    I came across this recipe through a google search, and it looked good so I wanted to try it, but…1/2 cup of flour seems like much too little for a full sized loaf. Is it supposed to be 1 1/2 cups?

  2. Your recipe is wonderful. I made it today. I had an abundance of zucchini from my garden. After many Google searches and scanning my collection of vegan cookbooks, I was thrilled to find a recipe that only called for 1/2c sugar and not too much oil. Thanks for sharing!

    • Yay! I am so happy that you were able to enjoy it! I always look for the recipes with the least amounts of fats and sugars because i like my sweets guilt free.

Leave a Reply

