Orange Glazed Tofu

I was supposed to try pho for the very first time this past Thursday. I was very excited.  However,  it did not happen because that very same morning, during my long run, which is the time when I just think of what foods to make, try, create, eat, taste, I remembered that I had some oranges that desperately needed to be eaten before they went bad. They were tucked away in a dark corner of my fridge, so I decided I needed to use them for something delicious and postpone my pho indulgence until next week!

I still wanted something with Asian flavors so I made Orange Glazed tofu with sesame seeds. The sauce that I used is very similar to the sauce used for my coconut crusted tilapia, except this sauce was reduced longer until it became nice and thick.  Making this was very fun ( when is cooking not fun eh…)

Ingredients

  • Firm tofu block (cut into 1″ cubes; drained)
  • 1 tbs oil
  • Breading procedure set up ( 1/2 c white flour, 1/2 panko crumbs, 1 egg with 1 tbs water)
  • 2 tbs toasted sesame seeds

Glaze sauce

  • 1/2 c white vinegar
  • 1/8 c granulated sugar
  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1/2 c orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon 5 China spice blend
  • 1/2 tbs corn starch

1. When working with firm tofu, I like to make sure that it  has been completely drained. In this case, the flavor of the sauce it very strong, so I did not find it necessary to marinate. I cubed the tofu and used a paper napkin to absorb excess moisture. I then set up my breading station and placed the tofu into the flour, patted away excess flour before dipping it in egg wash, and finally tossed it in the panko crumbs. In that order

2. I can be a health nut most of the time, so I try to avoid frying foods anytime that I can. I decided to coat a baking sheet with oil and then I lined up the breaded tofu cubes on the sheet and placed in the oven @ 350 degrees until they were nice and crispy on all sides. I checked about every 7-10 minutes to make sure there were no burning accidents and to turn the cubes to ensure equal crispness.

3. While that baked, I heated up my stainless steel pan and poured in the vinegar and sugar and wisked it until the sugar dissolved. While that was simmering, I mixed the starch into the orange juice and added in the China spices. I mixed everything very well and added it into my simmering vinegar and sugar mix.  I added my tbs of soy sauce  but more can be added to taste, i only used 1 tbs because of sodium. Finally I let it reduce down until it thickened into a glaze and when the tofu became nice and crisp, I just tossed it into the pan and let the glaze get all over it.  I then added the final touch by sprinkling some sesame seeds over the glazed tofu and served with steamed white rice. A healthier alternative to white rice can be quinoa, which is very easy to make, simply rinse it before cooking to get rid of the sour taste. Quinoa is very high in protein, it has all 9 essential amino acids found in “complete”proteins, so it is perfect for vegetarians!



The hubby really liked these, although he did suggest adding a hint of red  chili pepper paste to the sauce just to get a spicy kick. We are absolutely in love with spicy foods, so a tablespoon of the chili paste from the Asian isle in the supermarket can really take your sauce to a way spicier level! Enjoy!!

19 thoughts on “Orange Glazed Tofu

    • Yes, I feel the same way, it can be very soggy if its simply sauteed. When you bake it though it does change the texture, it makes it much more chewy and like you said, depending on how long it stays in the oven, crispy!! That’s why panko bread crumbs really helped in making it much more crispy.

  1. I made this for dinner tonight. The sauce was lovely! I added about a tablespoon of Sriracha and some jarred minced garlic, and about a tablespoon and a half of soy sauce (fresh squeezed the OJ of course). It didn’t really thicken up too much but I’m guessing it’s because I didn’t have any corn starch and subbed flour instead.

    For the breading, I ended up needing two eggs + two tablespoons of water. I turned the tofu cubes about three times during cooking.

    At the end I ate it with brown rice and green onions. It was great. No sesame seeds, because they’re a bit spendy and I’m poor, but I can definitely see how they’d be a good addition. My first time using panko and it went really well. I’ll definitely make this or some variation of it in the future. I think you could probably sub chicken for the tofu and it would still be pretty good…any thoughts? Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Oh I bet the spicy sriracha was great! The corn starch is really good at thickening things up but the flour is fine also. Its very easy to make a roux (flour + butter thickener) ahead of time. All it is is equal parts melted butter and flour. You melt the butter (without adding color) then remove pan from fire and add the flour and just mix it in until a paste is formed. You can form a block out of it and keep it in the fridge wrapped in plastic, when you need to thicken up a sauce just cut off a small piece and whisk it into the sauce! BTW Panko is my favorite to use when breading bc the crumbs just seem much lighter!!

  2. Pingback: adventures with tofu | Rachel's Recipes

  3. I was really craving orange “chicken” yesterday so I started googling recipes and yours came up and oh my goodness! I’m so happy that it did. I made this last night and it was absolutely amazing! I’ve never thought of baking tofu and I think it made all the difference, that and the perfect breading! Thank you so much for posting this! I will be making this again very soon, many times haha 🙂

  4. Hi there,

    Your recipe looks absolutely delicious! I am planning on trying it for a potluck but I was wondering how much is in a “block” of tofu?

    So sorry if that’s a stupid question! Thanks so much!

    • Not a stupid question at all!! Yes, its the standard block that they sell at supermarkets. Try buying the extra firm tofu that helps very much to keep the blocks together while you handle them through all the breading and cooking.

  5. I just tried this recipe tonight and it was really good! It reminds of an appetizer that used to be served at my favorite sushi place, so this definitely is going into my “bag o’ tricks!”

    Also we have the same blog theme! Don’t you just love it? So clean, minimal, no distractions!

    Now I’m off to search your archives for more great recipes to try!

  6. This was SO good! Similar (enough) to the general tso’s tofu, but a lot healthier. I added just a tbsp of sugar and hot sauce to the sauce and it was fantastic! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

